The meaning of the planets in astrology

The meaning of the planets in astrology


It was customary in ancient civilizations to use the sky as a guide, so astronomy and planetary astrology were considered to belong to the same field of human knowledge. Find out what role different planets play in astrology and which planet belongs to your zodiac sign at

Planets in astronomy and astrology

The meaning of the planets in astrology 1

The planets are important not only in astronomy, but also in astrology, and their properties are associated with the special properties of the corresponding zodiac sign. In astrology, the Sun and Moon are also considered planets. The rest of the planets: Jupiter, Mars, Mercury, Neptune, Pluto, Saturn, Uranus and Venus have special aspects and unique influences.

At present, the planets are considered as celestial bodies that have an established orbit and, unlike stars, do not have their own light. From an astronomical standpoint, the Sun and Moon are not considered planets, and Pluto was downgraded to a “dwarf planet” and expelled from the solar system in 2006.

In astrology, the planets are not differentiated, and the signs of the zodiac are determined from the main constellations of the solar system. Astrological research is built on the attribution of symbolic meanings to the location of these celestial bodies, on the understanding of their possible influence. For example, the presence of Mars in the sign of Cancer has a symbolic meaning for the astrologer, and for the astronomer, Cancer is just a cluster of stars.

What planet do you belong to according to your zodiac sign?

The meaning of the planets in astrology 2

Leo – Sun.

Cancer – Moon.

Gemini and Virgo – Mercury.

Taurus and Libra – Venus.

Aries – Mars.

Sagittarius – Jupiter.

Capricorn – Saturn.

Aquarius – Uranus.

Pisces – Neptune.

Scorpio – Pluto.

The meaning of the planets in astrology 3


The sun is the center of the solar system and the ruler of the zodiac sign Leo. In astrology, it symbolizes the source of heat of the universe, as well as strength and energy. The heavenly body symbolizes leadership, pride and vitality, but there are also elements of anger and selfishness. The Sun also governs the most important male figures in our lives.


The moon symbolizes the night and rules Cancer. In astrology, the Moon is the second most important celestial body after the Sun. It represents vulnerability, receptivity, as well as past, depth and intensity. It’s about how we deal with our emotions and has a direct link to our daily mood swings. The Moon governs the female figures who play a fundamental role in our life, especially motherhood.


Mercury rules Virgo and Gemini and represents communication, interaction and intelligence. The planet also signifies invention and movement. Mercury is associated with our intellectual abilities and communication processes, and also affects relationships with brothers, sisters, relatives and neighbors.

The meaning of the planets in astrology 4


Venus rules Libra and Taurus and is the planet of beauty, love and harmony. It is associated with prosperity, wealth and money. Venus-ruled signs cannot tolerate a hostile environment. The sphere of influence of this star also covers individual sensitivity and artistic flair.


Mars rules Aries and symbolizes energy, strength, impulsiveness, self-confidence, will, sexuality and ambition. But there are also elements of anger, jealousy, selfishness, irritation, revenge, aggression. Mars affects everything that moves us, our most primitive impulses and instincts.


The planet Jupiter rules Sagittarius and means development, luck and success. This applies to success in all aspects of life: work, finances, love, friends and family. The position of Jupiter in the astrological chart determines the area of life in which we can be most independent and free. This planet is associated with travel, luck, self-confidence.


Saturn rules Capricorn and symbolizes discipline, structuring, stability and wisdom. But there are also elements of failure, fear and pessimism.

The meaning of the planets in astrology 5


Uranus rules Aquarius and symbolizes change, individuality and genius. This is a planet of revolutions, original ideas and rebellious undertakings. The planet promotes new unconventional inventions and discoveries. The position of this star indicates areas of life in which we are most concerned about current social events.


Neptune rules Pisces and symbolizes fame, creativity, high ideals and success – mostly in the art world. Neptune is associated with our dreams and ideals, but because of this, it is also associated with illusions and mistakes. Intuition and spirituality are also major aspects of this planet.


Pluto rules Scorpio and represents renewal, personal strength and self-control. Those who are ruled by this planet have a great need to dominate others and make enemies easily. Pluto is considered the planet of the most profound transformations we are experiencing (on a social and personal level). They can be painful, but they are meant to show the potentialities that a person has.

Similar articles / You may like this